Archive

Topic: Soundcard for CW/Digital Modes (3 replies)
#1     Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:03 am
KD9XH
Sarasota,FL

Subject: Soundcard for CW/Digital Modes

Hello QSONET Users,

I am just getting started with QSONET primarily focusing on CW for now but hope to try some of the digital modes in the future.

Presently I'm using the onboard sound of my 4 yr old ASUS motherboard. I managed to get CwType working after reading this forum, but can't tune CWGet. The signal peak is tiny even after turning all of the volume controls to max. I gather that the problem lies in the control function of my onboard sound; it's too basic.

I'm hoping that I can get some PCI soundcard suggestions. I was reading about SDR's and see that the recommended soundcard is a $200 US M-Audio. I'm hoping that I can find something less expensive but adequate for my needs.

Tnx,

Ted
#2     Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:36 am
KA5OAI
San Angelo, TX

Subject: Re: Soundcard for CW/Digital Modes

KD9XH wrote:

Presently I'm using the onboard sound of my 4 yr old ASUS motherboard. I managed to get CwType working after reading this forum, but can't tune CWGet. The signal peak is tiny even after turning all of the volume controls to max. I gather that the problem lies in the control function of my onboard sound; it's too basic.

I'm hoping that I can get some PCI soundcard suggestions. I was reading about SDR's and see that the recommended soundcard is a $200 US M-Audio. I'm hoping that I can find something less expensive but adequate for my needs.

I wonder if you have cwget setup correctly? Almost sounds like cwget is hearing the cw via the microphone or some such? As far as sound cards go, I'm using a cheap on that I pulled out of an old computer. It's a pci Creative sound card. It doesn't do as well as a M-Audio would do with my softrock 40. Doesn't have as wide a bandwidth. but works just fine.

Grab a cheap sound card and try that 1st.

Good Luck,
Sam
KA5OAI
#3     Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:37 pm
KD9XH
Sarasota,FL