Archive
 
 
  Topic: What hardware for RF links? (4 replies)
#1     Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:17 am
K7EK
Spanaway, WA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Subject: What hardware for RF links?

There are working RF links out there, all which sound quite good. I am still
trying to find out what kind of hardware is required to make this happen.
Can anyone share this information with me? I am assuming that it is
a two-way reversable VOX setup of some sort but maybe am wrong. Would
someone please be kind enough to share with the forum the specifics on
your hardware for RF linking with CQ100 and any other explicit
details that might make it easier for others? Thanks in advance!

Best regards,

Gary, K7EK
__________________
#2     Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:45 pm
HL5KY
Pusan, Korea
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Subject:

Hi Gary,

I believe you already got the hardware and started to run your link on 145.5MHz by now. If not, the hardware is a vox system as you assumed.

Dave, G3VFP is running his link on 29.610 and he explained about his link on his website:www.g3vfp.org with the circuit(AF derived PTT).

Good luck.
__________________
#3     Mon Dec 04, 2006 2:44 am
K7EK
Spanaway, WA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Subject: re: What hardware to use for RF links

Hi Joe,

I did not get any hardware yet. I am presently running a test link between
Echolink and CQ100 and will later add the RF link. I have a lead on some
hardware. I am told by K4JPE that the Tigertronics SL-1+ (Non-USB unit)
is what he is using. If you get a chance, check out Jim's link on 29.68. It
sounds extremely nice and is very comfortable to operate. I will check
the link you gave for the G station. Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Gary, K7EK
__________________
#4     Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:57 pm
YB0AR
jakarta
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Subject: Re: What hardware for RF links?


K7EK wrote:
There are working RF links out there, all which sound quite good. I am still
trying to find out what kind of hardware is required to make this happen.
Can anyone share this information with me? I am assuming that it is
a two-way reversable VOX setup of some sort but maybe am wrong. Would
someone please be kind enough to share with the forum the specifics on
your hardware for RF linking with CQ100 and any other explicit
details that might make it easier for others? Thanks in advance!

Best regards,

Gary, K7EK


Hi Gary...
I build the external vox circuit for my gateway on 2m,,i got the diagram from : Basic Vox Circuit
By N1HFX

Working very good and low cost.

Just information : my gate way using Icom-2100 10w,using the Ext vox,PC sound card Creative soundblaster,The ant diamont vertical f23h 37m high .Simplex cover 200 km.

Ok Gary
73 de YB0AR
Ferry
Jakarta Indonesia
__________________
#5     Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:50 pm
KB0OXD
Denver, Colorado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Subject:

Hi everyone:

Why not just use a RigBlaster that's plugged into a DIFFERENT audio source than your system and configure CQ100 to use that same source?

As long as the source is a full duplex source, it should work just fine. I know this because earlier today, I had EchoLink recording a portion of a net I was on at the same SHOUTcast was streaming it. I had no problems with getting it to work (I know this because I played it back afterwards). The source was the onboard sound that came with my motherboard.

Just my opinion...

Cheers & 73 :D
__________________




Copyright ©2013 Cormac Technologies Inc.