Archive

Topic: Audio queries... (3 replies)
#1     Sat Jul 07, 2007 4:02 am
GW3VVC
Island of Anglesey

Subject: Audio queries...

Hi,

Just evaluating CQ100 and have a couple of questions/comments which someone might be able to help me with.

Firstly the audio quality - I've never done any voip before so I've no idea what the quality of the audio should be - it sounds very much like the usual telephone quality - not very good but readable - I did read somewhere that the maximum bandwidth used is 1.8 khz - as I presume the signals are digital rather than analogue I'm not too sure how this should affect the quality.

Also the speech breaks up - this appears to be worse with some stations than others - but appears to happen on pretty well every signal - I have ensured that I don't have anything else running - I've even briefly turned off my firewall - but it really makes no difference.

I have tried cw contacts using CQ100 and when the signal breaks up this can obviously make copying more difficult - however - and here I would really wellcome some feedback from experienced cw ops here on CQ100 - as the signal is sent in packets and presumably some packets have to be repeated - what effect does this have on the received copy ? I do sometimes as I mentioned have difficulty copying portions of the cw and I suspect it's not just because some of the cw has 'fallen into a hole' - presumably lost packets are being repeated - and maybe introducing a short delay between characters - this presumably happens so quickly that I would not have thought the effect would be noticeable - just ocassionally something about the cw sounds odd...

Sorry that last para sounds a bit garbled - maybe some cw ops out there may understand what I'm saying...

PC here is a modern Dell Dimension 9150 - 3Ghz with 2 Ghz RAM. I am at present using the on-board sound but have a Creative pci card sound card which I may try later.