Archive
 
 
  Topic: DATA CARDS (3 replies)
#1     Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:12 pm
G4OBB
Oxford UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Subject: DATA CARDS

ANYONE GOT ANT INFO ON HOW TO USE DATA CARDS WITH THIS SYSTEM? ALSO,WILL THEY WORK WITH ECHOLINK? WHAT IS THE BEST TYPE TO BUY,AND WHAT IS ROUGHLY THE ONGOING COST OF THESE DEVICES. THANK YOU DES..
__________________
#2     Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:13 pm
N2QOJ
Queen Creek AZ
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Subject:

Des -

Celluar Data Cards for laptops is just another way to get Internet access. EchoLink or QsoNet doesn't care what you use.

You can visit Vodafone here to learn more:

http://online.vodafone.co.uk/dispatch/Portal/appmanager/vodafone/wrp?_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=template09&pageID=BS_0035&tabIndex=0

or at: http://tinyurl.com/2pp4ea

Consider the cellular data service to be similar to "dial-up" service for laptops. However, this service is considerably faster than regular landline dial-up service.

Since this service is a dedicated service, you get an IP addressed assigned to your laptop for the session. That means no adjustment of port assignments for EchoLink.

I use Sprint Cellular Data Service all the time in my vehicle. I have wonderful CQ100 QSOs and EchoLink fun.

Come join our QsoNet_CQ100 YAHOO Group! Click on the link below my signature.

Regards,
__________________
#3     Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:28 pm
G4OBB
Oxford UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Subject: Data cards

Thanks so much for your reply...I'll look at the link...cheers Des.
__________________
#4     Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:26 pm
N2QOJ
Queen Creek AZ
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Subject: data cards

Hih Des,

I was just wondering how your research on data cards is going?

Any decisions? Will it work for you?

73, Joe - N2QOJ
__________________




Copyright ©2013 Cormac Technologies Inc.