Archive

Topic: 40 meter band for sale. (1 replies)
#1     Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:06 pm
VE3EFC

Subject: 40 meter band for sale.

I have been hearing for 45 years that ARRL and Amateur operators must grow our membership and be active on the HF bands or we might lose these valuable bands. This wisdom is often given as a reason for easy exams - "attract young members in order to keep our bands". I read somewhere that QsoNet is a conspiracy to get hams off RF, so THEY can steal the ham bands.

Here is a question... Who are THEY and why do they want our bands? Before the era of satellites, fiber optics, internet and microwave, I would agree the HF bands were valuable. Today I hear a few religeous broadcast stations and WWV on HF. Am I missing something? *hi* The AM broadcast band in my city is now totally dead, except for one station.

If the hams of the word got together and decided to sell off the 40 meter band on Ebay, who would bid and how much would they pay?

Comments?
#2     Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:29 pm
W7RJR
Spokane, WA

Subject: RE: 40 meters for sale

Doug

While I take what ARRL says about their membership growing with some doubt, I do believe we should be active as much as possible on the frequency sprectrum we have been granted. I have not heard about the conspiracy of which you speak and even if I had; wouldn't believe any of it.