Archive

Topic: Where is the VOIP injected into the HF bands? (2 replies)
#1     Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:22 am
KS4VB
St. Petersburg, FL

Subject: Where is the VOIP injected into the HF bands?

I am an absolute newbie to VOIP and CQ100.

I just listened to the Waterway Radio and Cruising Club on 7.268 at 0745 Eastern and it was exactly as I hear on my hf rig; some stations 10 over, some down in the mud. I think I understand VOIP, but somewhere, there is a computer (server) linked to an hf rig that is connected to an antenna, and ...well. you know how all that works. And anyone transmitting on CQ100 was 30 over!

So my question is, where is the antenna. And what is my "QTH", virtually speaking.

Thanks.
Charlie
KS4VB
#2     Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:38 pm
NJ3H
Stephens City, Virginia, USA

Subject:

Charlie,

Except for some CQ100 linking to HF (of which I haven't come across any yet), what you hear on CQ100 is NOT being broadcast on the HF bands. You are "transmitting" and "receiving" on a server or servers in a manner to simulate the real amateur radio bands. That is why, you can transmit on frequencies that are outside of your license class. You aren't on the radio - you are just chatting (and other modes of communication) on the computer with software that simulates actual amateur communications.

Contacts made do not count for WAS, DXCC, etc as awarded by the ARRL. There may be some similar awards for CQ100, but I do not know.

So, you may ask, if it isn't real amateur radio, then why bother? For me, without HF capability (antenna restrictions) I can easily talk to people around the world. Of course I could do that on Skype or some other system, but on CQ100 you are talking to fellow hams. For those that are in senior living conditions, on the road with wi-fi, or whatever, this is a fun way to stay in touch with others.